Silkysteps early years forum - planning ideas for play

Silkysteps early years forum - planning ideas for play (http://www.silkysteps.com/forum/index.php)
-   Training, Qualifications & CPD (http://www.silkysteps.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   NVQ 3 finished - what next? (http://www.silkysteps.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11536)

Gail the Snail 01-11-2011 12:44 AM

NVQ 3 finished - what next?

I have finished my NVQ 3 and am keen to progress but am a little confused about the next step. I work in a pre-school as a practioner and am led to believe that the NVQ 4 is being phased out, is this correct? Does that mean the next step is the foundation degree? I have also been told only 1 person in the setting is allowed to do this at a time and someone has just started it. It seems such a shame to stop my learning here as i feel i have more to give and more to learn. I have a degree in another field so feel i have the capabilities to continue my learning at this level. And then theres the question of funding? If anyone has any advice or could shed some light on relevant qualifications etc it would be much appreciated. Thankyou

tutu 01-11-2011 02:42 PM

work. embedding what you have learn lots of reading learning from others and especially if you did the nvq train to gain visiting other settings. then in a year or so think about applying for the foundation degree.
learning is not a race the capability to learn bears no relation to your processing of early years practice. you need to reflect and embed. a good college wont touch someone till they have Worked qualified at 3 for at least a year. if you already have a degree you will have to self fund or you could consider the eyps but every area does this different so you need to speak to your local early years team. if you in my area though i would say the above i am rarely interested in people who want to speed through their learning as doing the job post a course is where true ability lies.